After connecting your WordPress account to the CMP using this tutorial, review the following points to ensure proper setup!
Task Workflow Configuration
If you want to publish content to WordPress, you must have a workflow that has the following actions checked at some point in the workflow:
Quick Article Post and Quick Share, by default, have these actions enabled.
If these checkboxes are not checked for any steps throughout the chosen workflow, then you will not be able to publish the content.
To confirm that these are checked, go to "Workflows" in the username dropdown and select the workflow you want to use to publish your content.
Choosing a Publishing Destination
When you reach the step where you select the publish destination, choose the name of the WordPress site from the dropdown under "Publish to a Website."
Once this is chosen, and content has been added to the task, the following widget will appear:
From here you can select WordPress categories, authors, and tags. You can also select "Allow Comments", which will allow a viewer to add comments.
When the "Post Draft" button is pressed, the article will be pushed onto the selected WordPress site as a draft, and the "Post Draft" button will now say "Sync Draft":
The user will also now be able to press "Preview Draft", which will open a new tab with a preview of what the current draft would look like if posted live. (Note: you must be logged in, as an admin, to your WordPress backend in order to preview draft posts.)
When any changes are made to the article in the CMP, the "Sync Draft" button should be pressed to update the draft in WordPress. All changes made in the CMP will flow to WordPress.
The "Delete Draft" button will delete the draft from WordPress.
Publish as Draft
The "Publish as draft" checkbox will determine if the article is published live to the site, or published only as a draft to WordPress. When "Publish as draft" is not selected, the article will publish live when the "Publish" button is pressed, or when the scheduled publish time occurs.
When "Publish as draft" is selected, the article will never be published live, but instead, it will be "published" to WordPress as a draft when the Publish button is pressed, or when the scheduled publish time occurs.
The best use case for "Publish as draft" is if the user does not want to publish an article from the CMP, but wants to publish the complete and finished article to WordPress and then publish from WordPress.
If the user is publishing articles through the CMP, then the "Publish as draft" checkbox does not need to be selected.
After publishing as a draft
After the article is published, the task will look like this:
There are a couple of differences between this widget before and after publishing occurs:
- A publish button appears next to "Sync Draft"
- The "Publish as draft" checkbox disappears
The "Publish" button will publish the article to the live site regardless of if the article was previously published as a draft or live to the site. If the user accidentally published the article as a draft, then pressing the "Publish" button will immediately publish the article live.
Publish as draft is no longer an option because the article was already published to WordPress as a draft. The draft of the article is in WordPress and can be published live from the "Publish" button anytime. The user can tell if the article was published as a draft when there is a link that says "Posted as Draft" (see top of above image). Clicking on this link directs the user to a preview of the draft.
Pressing "Edit Information" opens up the above WordPress widget where the permalink, publish date, and WordPress tags, categories, and authors are.
After publishing the article to a live site, the task will look like this:
The button "Move to Draft" will move the article from the live site to WordPress as a draft. Also, the user can tell that this was published live because the "posted as draft" link will not appear next to the name of the WordPress site.
The above images demonstrate what a task would look like when the connected WordPress account does not have an active Yoast SEO plugin. Yoast uses a variety of custom fields for storing focus keywords and metadata descriptions, and the user can enter those fields in the CMP after pressing "Post Draft".
Learn more about Yoast SEO in the CMP here.
Publishing is highly dependent on the configuration of the task's workflow. Here are a few tips to creating the most effective workflow for publishing to WordPress:
- Only select the "Publish/Share" checkbox for the final step of a workflow. That way nothing is published before the final step and the assignee to the last step can verify that the publishing configuration is correct.
- If possible, only select the "Set Publish Destination" and "Set Publish Date" checkboxes for steps where an assignee would want to edit the publish destination and publish date. This will avoid confusion for others editing other parts of the task.
- The "Post Draft" button does not appear until an article is written or selected. If the publishing destination is chosen before the content exists, there will not be a "Post Draft" button.
- When publishing an article live to the site, the "Published as draft" button does not need to be selected. This will help avoid tasks accidentally being published as a draft instead of live. The "Post Draft" button is sufficient for pushing a draft onto WordPress.
- To republish an article that has already been published, copy the task by pressing the "Copy Task" button in the upper right-hand corner. This will create a new task that is the exact replica of the published task. Then publish this new task.